User Roles Settings

Overview

Ultimate Member allows you to create multiple member roles and customize the capabilities and permissions that role has, which provides great flexibility when it comes to creating your site.

Default Roles

Upon installation and activation of Ultimate Member you will see that the plugin has installed two default roles: admin and member. These two roles are a core part of the plugin’s functionality and cannot be deleted. However, you are free to change the role name and to edit the role’s options and permissions.

Creating a new role/ editing an existing role

To create a new user role for your site, click on the roles link in the Ultimate Member admin menu, then click on the “add new role” button near the top of the page. This will take you to the role page where you can create the new user role. You can also edit an existing role which will take you to the same page. The role page includes the following.

Role title

This is where you can enter a new role or change the name of an existing role.

Administrative Permissions

This widget allows you to provide this role with certain administrative permissions. By Default these permissions are all turned off (apart for the default admin role).

  • Can access wp-admin? – Turning this on will allow this users with this role to access the admin dashboard. If turned on the WordPress toolbar will appear at top of the page.
  • Can edit all member profiles? – Turning this on will allow users with this role to edit the profile fields of all other members on the site.
  • Can edit only specific roles profiles? – If you don’t want this user role to be able to edit all members of your site you can allow this role to only edit certain member roles by turning this option on and selecting the desired roles.
  • Can delete all member accounts? – Turning this on will allow users with this role to delete the accounts of all other members on the site (apart from site admin)
  • Can delete only specific roles accounts? – If you don’t want this user role to be able to delete all member accounts on your site you can allow this role to only delete certain member roles by turning this option on and selecting the desired roles.

General Permissions

This widget allows you to provide this role with certain administrative permissions. By Default these permissions are all turned off (apart for the default admin role).

  • Can edit their profile? – Turning this on will allow this users with this role to access the admin dashboard. If turned on the WordPress toolbar will appear at top of the page.
  • Can delete their account? – Turning this on will allow users with this role to delete the accounts of all other members on the site (apart from site admin)

Profile Access

This widget allows you to provide this role with certain administrative permissions. By Default these permissions are all turned off (apart for the default admin role).

  • Can view other member profiles? – Turning this on will allow this users with this role to access the admin dashboard. If turned on the WordPress toolbar will appear at top of the page.
  • Can view these user roles only – Turning this on will allow users with this role to edit the profile fields of all other members on the site.
  • Can upload files? – If you don’t want this user role to be able to edit all members of your site you can allow this role to only edit certain member roles by turning this option on and selecting the desired roles.
  • Can delete their account? – Turning this on will allow users with this role to delete the accounts of all other members on the site (apart from site admin)

Homepage options

This widget allows you to decide whether this role can view your site’s homepage. By default this is set to yes. If you make it no so that this role cannot view the homepage a new option will appear where you can enter a url which is where this role will be redirected to if they try to access the homepage.

Registration options

This widget allows you to control what happens to this role when they register on your site.

  • Registration status – This option allows you to decide the status a user has when they register on your site. You can make it so registrations are auto approved, require email activation or need to be manually approved by the site admin. The status you select here will affect what action can be taken after the person registers.
  • Action to be taken after registration – Depending on the registration status you will be able to redirect new users to their profile, to a custom url or show a custom message on the same page.

Login options

This widget allows you to control what happens to this role when they login to your site. You can set the action that is taken after a user logins to be: Redirect to profile; redirect to url; refresh active page or redirect to WordPress admin.

Logout options

This widget allows you to control what happens to this role when they logout of your site. You can set the action that is taken after a user logs out to be either redirect them to your site’s homepage or redirect to a custom url.

Delete options

This widget allows you to control what happens to a user with this role when they delete their account You can set the action that is taken after a user delete’s their own account to either redirect them to your site’s homepage or redirect to a custom url.