Users Tab

Default new user role

This option allows you to select the default role that will be assigned to users after they register on your site if you do not assign a role to your register form(s).

Profile permalink base

This option allows you to select the profile permalink base that will appear in the url when viewing a user’s profile on your site. You can set the permalink option to be: username, first and last name or user i.d. By default the profile permalink will be set to show the username in the url.

User display name

This option allows you to select the display name for users of your site. The display name can be one of the following:

  • Username– If this option is selected users of your site will be identified by the username they create when registering on your site e.g johndoe
  • First name & last name– If this option is selected users of your site will be identified by their first and last name e.g John Doe.
  • Last name & first name– If this option is selected users of your site will be identified by their last and first name e.g Doe, John.
  • First name & first initial of last name– If this option is selected users of your site will be identified by their first name and the first initial of their last name e.g John D.
  • First initial of first name & last name– If this option is selected users of your site will be identified by the first initial of their first name and their last name e.g J Doe.
  • First name only– If this option is selected users of your site will be identified by their first name only e.g John.
  • Display name– If this option is selected users of your site will be identified by the text that they have entered into the display name field
  • Custom field(s) - If this option is selected your users display name will be selected from custom field(s) they fill in when registering on your site. 

Automatically redirect author page to their profile?

This option allows you to redirect the author page to the UM profile page. The author page will commonly appear when a user clicks on the authors name on a blog post.

Enable Members directory

This option allows you to completely disable member directories from your site. If you turn member directories off the member directories link from the Ultimate Member menu in the admin.

Use Gravatars

This option allows you to decide whether to use gravatars or the default Ultimate Member image for user profile photos before users upload a custom profile photo.

Require a strong password? (when user resets password only)

This option allows you to require a strong password when a user resests their password using the password reset/forgot password process. This option has no setting on the password field on register form or when changing password on account page.