Roles Assignment Logic

Overview

Since Ultimate Member - Woocommerce 2.2.3 version there is new roles assignment logic, which is more clear and flexible with changing order statuses, refund, or payment completes.

Global settings for orders

Ultimate Member - Woocommerce allows you to set different roles after order status changed to complete/refund. You could find these settings in the Ultimate Member > Settings > Extensions > Woocommerce screen

  • Ignore the roles update, if the user has these roles on complete/processing or refund payment - users who have one of the selected roles will be ignored when changing the order status.
  • Assign this role to users when an order is completed/processing - automatically add the selected role to the user when order is completed or processing (for digital/downloadable products).
  • Upgrade user role when payment is on-hold before complete or processing status - add the selected role above to the user when the order has on-hold status. It just will set the role earlier than completed or processing status.
  • Assign this role to users when an order is refunded - automatically add the selected role to the user when the order is refunded. Please pay attention that this option works only for fully refunded orders. It doesn't work for a partial refund.
  • Remove previous roles when change role on complete/processing or refund payment - when "yes" allows to remove all current roles for the user and set only that roles, which are selected in the options above.
  • Disable subscriptions roles switcher - by default, there can be a conflict between WC Subscriptions plugin options and roles assignment by Ultimate Member - Woocommerce integration for subscription products. Please leave checked to avoid the conflict.

The role data is stored in the order meta. This means that when you change the role in the setting for old purchases, the old setting will apply.

Individual product settings

Ultimate Member - Woocommerce allows you to set different roles for the product buyers and remove this role after a product refund. You could find these settings in the Woocommerce Product Add/Edit screen

  • When this product is bought move the user to this role - this role will be assigned to the user when it buys the selected product and removed when this product will be refunded. The role data is stored in the order item meta. This means that when you change the role in the setting for old purchases, the old setting will apply.

Individual product settings. Subscriptions

Ultimate Member - Woocommerce allows you to set different roles for the subscription product buyers and remove/change this role when subscription status is changed. You could find these settings in the Woocommerce Product Add/Edit screen

  • When subscription is {subscription_status} move user to this role - this role will be assigned to the user when it has the subscription product and the subscription's status was changed to {subscription_status}. The roles assignment data is stored in the user's subscription meta. This means that when you change the role in the setting for old subscriptions, the old setting will apply.