Common content restriction settings
The Content Restriction feature allows you to restrict users to access the site, pages and posts. This article describes settings that control access to the site and pages. You can find these settings on wp-admin > Ultimate Member > Settings > Access > Restriction Content.
Global Site Access
There are two types of access you can select from the Global Site Access drop-down menu:
- Site accessible to Everyone
- Site accessible to Logged in users
Site accessible to Everyone
This is the default Global Site Access setting. Everyone or every user can view or access every page or post on your site. Select this option if you want to allow non-members to view your site's content but want to restrict certain pages to members only.
The image below shows that everyone can view the Members Page, including logged-out users.
In this example, we tried restricting only the Member Page while the global access is set to Site accessible to Everyone.
The Member Page has been restricted while the other pages are still accessible to everyone.
Site accessible to Logged in users
This option will only allow or give access to logged-in users. Every page or post on your site will only be available to logged-in users unless you change the access rule on a particular page/post to make a page available to everyone.
Notice: Pages Login, Registration, Password Reset can not be restricted. These pages are the exception.
If this option is selected, you will see more settings below:
- Custom Redirect URL - If a logged-out user tries to access restricted content or page, the user will be redirected to the URL entered in this setting.
- Exclude the following URLs - When you add a new URL in this setting, it will be excluded in the restricted content. The URL or page will be accessible to everyone.
- Allow Homepage to be accessible - If enabled, everyone is allowed to access the homepage.
- Allow Category pages to be accessible - If enabled, everyone is allowed to access category pages.
However, in using this option, it is important to create a page where non-members can sign-up/log in to your site. For example, you may want to make your homepage a landing page to encourage new users to sign-up.
If logged-out users try to access a page, they are redirected to the homepage or landing page.
Replace the restricted Post Title
This option allows setting the restricted post's title for the content that isn't accessible to the visitor or current user.
Restricted Access Post Title
This is the title shown to users who do not have permission to view the post. It affects the individual post page, archive post in a widget, or post link in the nav menu titles.
Restricted Access Message
This message will be shown to users who do not have permission to view the content.
Enable the "Content Restriction" settings for the Gutenberg Blocks
This enables the admin to set the restriction settings for Gutenberg Blocks.
The admin can enable or disable content restrictions for the Gutenberg blocks in each post.
Logged-out users are not able to access or view the restricted Gutenberg block if the admin has selected Hide block under the Restriction action.
Restricted Access Block Message
This message will be shown to users who do not have permission to view the Gutenberg block.
If the admin has selected Show global default message under the Restriction action in edit post > Block settings, the restricted access block message is displayed to logged-out users.
Enable the "Content Restriction" settings for post types
This enables the "Content Restriction" feature for the individual posts of the selected post types.
If enabled, the admin can enable or disable content restriction of a post while editing, and they can also choose who can access the post with the following options: Everyone, Logged out users, Logged in users. Individual post restriction settings are described here.
Enable the "Content Restriction" settings for taxonomies
This enables the "Content Restriction" feature for the individual terms of the selected taxonomies.
If enabled, the admin can manage content restriction of a taxonomy while editing. Individual taxonomy restriction settings are described here.